EcDev Journal

Past Issues 1988 - Present

Subscribe via e-mail
Posted Friday, July 16, 2021

Figure 1: Main Street/Visitor Economy Concepts and Ideas By: Dr. Tom Griffin - tom.griffin@ryerson.ca Dr. Walter Jamieson FCIP - walter.jamieson@ryerson.ca Natasha Francis - natasha.francis@ryerson.ca    Institute for Hospitality and Tourism Research at Ryerson University ABSTRACT
Main streets are important economic, social, and cultural centres integral to the success and character of communities across the country but have faced many challenges in recent years even before the pandemic, including changing retail...

Read More...

Posted Tuesday, December 29, 2020

By:  Natasha Apollonova, Eli Levin, Matthew Mohan, and Olusegun Villasa 
Natasha, Eli, Matthew, and Olusegun are recent graduates of Ryerson University’s Local Economic Development certificate program, where they worked together to assess the impact of COVID-19 on the health and vibrancy of the Downtown Yonge Business Improvement Area (DYBIA), one of Canada’s busiest and most vibrant economic and cultural corridors.
Abstract
Downtown Yonge...

Read More...

Posted Sunday, December 13, 2020

By:  James Arteaga ( james.arteaga@ryerson.ca ); Julie (Eun Jung) Jo ( julie.jo@mail.utoronto.ca ); Manuela Montelpare ( manuelamontelpare@gmail.com ); Iana Lanceta ( iana.lanceta@gmail.com ); William Tiffin ( william.tiffin@ryerson.ca ).  Ryerson University Local Economic Development Certificate Program graduates.
Abstract
This paper analyzes the return on investment (ROI) for the following North American Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) projects: Airbus in...

Read More...

Posted Thursday, October 08, 2020

Figure 1 By: Laura Burnham, BIA Coordinator, and Operations Manager, Toronto, Ontario, Canada. laura.burnham @ live.ca
Abstract : The role of Business Improvement Areas (BIAs) in the early mitigation of the economic impacts of COVID-19 on small and medium-sized businesses in Ontario was studied. As this is a new area of research, several methodologies including analyzing data collected from March to June of 2020 from surveys and case studies were incorporated. It was found that...

Read More...

Posted Thursday, October 01, 2020

By: Laura Burnham, Sebastian Contin, Lucia (Ming-Hsuan) Huang, Iana Lanceta, Lillian Phillip, Simran Sandhu, Frank Venditti
laura.burnham @live.ca; iana.lanceta@ gmail.com; lucia.huang726@gmail.com 
Abstract:
This article investigates economic and consumer behavior trends in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic in Canada. Information is gathered from secondary sources as well as domestic and international case studies to identify these trends and to form...

Read More...