EcDev Journal

Past Issues 1988 - Present

Subscribe via e-mail
Posted Friday, July 16, 2021

Figure 1: Main Street/Visitor Economy Concepts and Ideas By: Dr. Tom Griffin - tom.griffin@ryerson.ca Dr. Walter Jamieson FCIP - walter.jamieson@ryerson.ca Natasha Francis - natasha.francis@ryerson.ca    Institute for Hospitality and Tourism Research at Ryerson University ABSTRACT
Main streets are important economic, social, and cultural centres integral to the success and character of communities across the country but have faced many challenges in recent years even before the pandemic, including changing retail...

Read More...

Posted Monday, January 25, 2021

Figure 1 By: Kayleanna Giesinger,  kgiesinger@uwaterloo.ca ; Jeffrey Wilson,  Jeffrey.wilson@uwaterloo.ca ; Corresponding Author,  kgiesing@uwaterloo.ca Abstract
A local economy is a highly networked complex system made up of stakeholders, actors, and influencers. The very nature of a system is that its behaviour is anchored by its state, which is made up of a series of parameters and characteristics. If the mechanisms of a complex system are adequately understood,...

Read More...

Posted Tuesday, December 29, 2020

By:  Natasha Apollonova, Eli Levin, Matthew Mohan, and Olusegun Villasa 
Natasha, Eli, Matthew, and Olusegun are recent graduates of Ryerson University’s Local Economic Development certificate program, where they worked together to assess the impact of COVID-19 on the health and vibrancy of the Downtown Yonge Business Improvement Area (DYBIA), one of Canada’s busiest and most vibrant economic and cultural corridors.
Abstract
Downtown Yonge...

Read More...

Posted Sunday, December 13, 2020

By:  James Arteaga ( james.arteaga@ryerson.ca ); Julie (Eun Jung) Jo ( julie.jo@mail.utoronto.ca ); Manuela Montelpare ( manuelamontelpare@gmail.com ); Iana Lanceta ( iana.lanceta@gmail.com ); William Tiffin ( william.tiffin@ryerson.ca ).  Ryerson University Local Economic Development Certificate Program graduates.
Abstract
This paper analyzes the return on investment (ROI) for the following North American Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) projects: Airbus in...

Read More...

Posted Tuesday, October 27, 2020

By: Martin Davis, Managing Partner, DUNELM Associates 
Martin.Davis@DunelmAssociates.com
Abstract
What is the future of Manufacturing? Is it all about advanced manufacturing, digitization, technology, and automation?   Many would argue that it is encapsulated in the fourth industrial revolution as defined by Industry 4.0, which describes how the industry should be evolving to deliver improved productivity, capability, and performance.  
Keywords...

Read More...